Texas Approved Defensive Driving Courses


Take a National Safety Council court-approved course to receive one or both of the following benefits:

  • Ticket Dismissal Texas state law allows motorists to dismiss one traffic ticket every 12 months by taking a court-approved driver safety course, with the permission of the court.
  • Insurance Discount Some insurance companies will provide a discount (usually 10%) for three years on the liability portion of your auto insurance premiums if you provide proof of completion of a court-approved driver safety course.

DDC 6-TX

This six-hour course is approved by the Texas Region XIII Education Service Center to satisfy the requirement of the Driver Safety Program. Classes are available statewide and in English and Spanish.

Younger Driver Program

If you are under 25 years of age and have been sentenced by a judge to attend a younger driver course, the Alive at 25 program is the approved course. Alive at 25 is a highly interactive four-hour intervention program that focuses on drivers ages 15 to 24 — the group most likely to be involved in a fatal collision. Alive at 25 uses workbook exercises, group discussions, role playing and short lectures to help keep young drivers safe on the road.



A public service site created by Texas Friendly Defensive Driving School